Lately I have come across a few articles, videos and speeches about apologizing.
Let me ask you something: how many times today have you said “I’m sorry”?
Really think about it.

For me, this started years ago… I recognized and heard myself countless times, apologizing for things that are of my human rights. I caught myself saying sorry, when I was really sorry for nothing at all!

Have you ever spoken your mind, and then apologized for it straight after? Not because you are sorry, but to most likely appease the other person’s feelings. How about that time where you  almost walked right into someone turning a corner, and both of you were quick to verbalize everything you are sorry for. Why are we sorry for having opinions, expressing ourselves, turning a corner…living!? Why have we begun to incorporate this phrase into our everyday activities and experiences?

There is something very small about apologizing when no apology is necessary, it is disempowering. Our words are ours to choose, and our words are how we portray ourselves. We are born with the freedom, and the service to say what we mean, and mean what we say. We are holding out on the world, if we are holding out on ourselves. The world doesn’t need “I am sorry”… she needs “I am.”

Powerful examples of “I am”:

1. I am honest with myself, and others.
2. I laugh when a stranger and I almost run into each other, it reminds me to take some time to slow down and appreciate fully.
3. I can tell someone news opposite of what they desire, without apologizing based on their feelings.
4. I am secure with myself to know when to apologize so I genuinely mean it.
5. I love myself so much, that I do not alter who or what I am.

Enjoying the sun

I personally have had it with the useless apologies. There is absolutely nothing sexy about it… agree?
It’s about time we all learn to just BE- without feeling guilty about it.

Peace and Love as always,

~Jasmine